Fifty PLUS Remember When
Remember when they held canoe races on the Sheboygan River in Kiel?
30 years ago

Father David Christel and the parish congregation are surprised during Palm Sunday Mass when police or CB transmissions come clearly through the St. Augustine P. A. system during services.

Richard Bosshardt and Beverly Kossman re-elected to Chilton Board of Education.

Stock car racing returns to the Calumet Fairgrounds after a 15 year absence.

Dan Holst led the Friday Nite Men’s bowling league with a nifty 624.

By a 15-4 margin, the Calumet County Board votes to initiate the new position of county administrative coordinator.

Kasson Cheese of Brillion marks its 100th birthday.

Weber’s clothing observes its 20th anniversary.

Steve Kestell is named the new manager of the Chilton Farm & Home Supply Store. He has been assistant manager for the past two years.

Top band honors go to Tim Kossman, Kelly Thiel and Andy Nadler.

John Keuler, Jr. chosen as Calumet County’s first administrative coordinator.

Former packer linebacker Mike Hunt addresses area athletes.

Sue Hanzel named teacher of the year, an award sponsored by the Chilton FFA.

Ebenezer UCC 100th anniversary in full swing.

35 years ago

Chilton elects three new officials over incumbents. Hank Gillig, Sr. defeats Mayor Al Larson. Marv Geiser outpolls Council President Hans Kalinka while Vern Gonzo ousts Victor Steven for the city’s County Board seat.

Kim Leitner and Mike Giesen named CHS prom queen and king. Court members include Patty Gerner, Dave Goeser, June Zahringer, Jeff Schumacher, Julie Westenberger, Bob Holzer, Gloria Levknecht, Kent Ecker, Jan Christie, Kevin Ecker, Mary Kay Ecker and John Hemauer.

Jerry Mueller is the commander of the Calumet County VFW Post 3153.

Badger State reps include Kim Bosshardt, Pennie Walker, Martin Wenig and Martin Geiser.

Prom court at CHS includes Marty Wenig, Chris Woelfel, Jim Mittnacht, Pat Freidel, Pat Hertel, Kim Bosshardt, Jane Kolbe, Brian Moschel, Kathy Matthies, Dean Kloehn, Patty Popp and Keith Stroobants

King and Queen of this year’s prom are Tom Hertel and Barb Lemke.

Gary Vercauteren named president of Chilton Jaycees.

Cheryl Stanelle elected president of Chilton Campfire girls.

40 years ago

Peggy Hemauer becomes first woman elected to Chilton City Council, defeating Hans Kalinka for the seat.

Jean Thiel wins the American Legion Auxiliary Americanism essay contest.

Chilton High School prom court includes Pat Bechlem, Greg Weber, Kathy Connors, Paul Geiser, Sue Schumacher, Mike Hoerth, Vicki Heiberger, Fran Weller, Cheri Ware, John Mittnacht, Lori Vogt, Tom Nolan.

Audrey Biedenbender receives a gold watch for 25 years of service at Chilton’s

remember when

Aluminum Specialty Company.

David Claus is named president of the Chilton Kiwanis Club.

Mary Klotz receives a first place rating at the state forensics contest.

Pat Flanagan, secretary for the Chilton Chamber the past 16 years, has earned a scholarship to the U. S. Chamber of Commerce executive institute at Michigan State University.

50 years ago

Tom Hilbert and James Schmidlkofer earn the Catholic Youth Adaltari Dei Award as Boy Scouts.

Lowell Klessig and Margaret Nelson named as CHS valedictorian and salutatorian.

Clarence Schmeisser, Chilton, is elected commissioner of the Calumet County American Legion Council.

Chris Christopherson re-elected as commander of the Chilton American Legion Post.

55 years ago

Kathleen Hertel wins first place in Chilton Chamber raft contest.

County Government Day reps from Chilton High are Adella Meyer, Gary Lisowe, Ann Hertel, Arlene Koehler, Nancy Plappert, Sandra Lunde, Gretchen Schneider and Linda Gordon.

Alderman Emil Jodar holds his seat by three votes over Robert Larson.

years ago

Claire Pfeffer and Yvonne Kosmosky are the top students in Chilton’s graduating class.

Leo Kartheiser appointed acting postmaster for the Chilton Post Office.

Dan Kuhn and Millie Buechel reign over CHS prom.

Chilton Tigers win the first baseball championship in school history. Members of the team are Gervase Meyers, Leland Winkler, Ken Leitner, Bob Goggins, Jim Ketter, Jim Bloomer, Marv Leitner, Norbert Keuler, Bob Bennin, Marvin Bishop, Don Nickel, John Landgraf, Russ Young, Ed Bloomer, Dan Kuhn, Jerry Wettstein and Gerald Korb.

Earl “Mike” Leitner was the coach while Ed Drone served as the assistant coach.

20 years ago

Carla Goodrich-Lehman inducted into Lakeshore All-Sports Hall of Fame.

Mayor Frank Larizza takes the oath of office in Kiel.

Joe Meyer renamed president of Kiel School Board.

Kiel Bean Bag League winners from the Altona are Melissa Schuler, Marge Bartel, Ann Krepline, Bob Schneider, Ron Krepline, Tony Krepline, Glen Franzen, Dennis Bowe and Randy Krepline.

Kiel Council approves plans for trail along the Sheboygan River. State grants and a contribution of $60,000 from Sargento Foods will contribute toward the $267,000 project.

Todd Weber hired by Delta Publications as the company’s new special projects editor. He will spearhead a Farm Progress Days special set of editions.

Kiel’s newest tavern owner, Larry Schuricht, operator of Larry’s Good Time Inn, plans to feature music and food, and clears the air about rumors concerning dancers on the premises. Contracts for the new bar prohibit such use of the facility.

Wayne Tietyen opens new accounting office in Kiel.

Tom Karls named Kiel’s Citizen of the Year by the Kiel Kiwanis Club.

35 years ago

Joe Meyer beats Jack Lechler for fi-nal board of education seat by one vote 738-737.

Rollie Faust makes Kiel track history by winning three distance evens in same meet, the 880, the mile and the two mile.

Nine charter members of the St. Peter’s UCC Women’s Guild attend the organization’s 50th anniversary. The include Jennie Diefenthaler, Norma Hahn, Helga Dawurske, Mathilda Kazmeier, Ethel Griebenow, Ida Christel, Minnie Reineck, Elva Bieck and Christine Vogel.

Karen Keuler wins the SS. Peter and Paul spelling championship.

Qualifiers for the state forensics contest include Brian Riesterer, Debbie Johnson, Diana Baus, Debbie Salm,


Pam Stecker, Lisa Huberty and Alice Schneider.

Larry Orth and Therese Klauck have been chosen as prom royalty at KHS.

Joanne Pritchard honored with the Thanks Badge from Manitou Girl Scout Council.

Badger State Reps include Peggy Walber, Carol Heimann, Steve Deibele and Steve Toepel.

Klaudia Schubert took first in the discus at a track meet with a toss of 91 feet.

Lisa Huberty and Shelly Henschel are top two KHS students in Class of ‘78.

Ninmer’s Lanes is installing new plastic lanes and gutters.

Debbie Coopman named president of Kiel Junior Women’s Club.

Coach Mike Fifrick is busily preparing the KHS baseball team.

45 years ago

Walter Siemers elected president at the annual Lake to Lake Dairy Cooperative meeting.

Floyd Henschel named to the Lakeland College Hall of Fame.

Scott Christiansen, Nadine Guckeisen, Sue Pritchard and Jean Moritz to represent Kiel at the state music festival.

Brother Michael Graf receives his first assignment as a Capuchin Brother.

Kiel’s newest industry is the manufacturer of cement lawn ornaments. Ed Schneider has his warehouse at the Brooklyn Bar Hall.

Roeck’s A&W Drive In has been sold to Otto and Jan Benke. Badger State Representatives are Mary Ruh, Michael Scharenbroch and Woody Dahmer.

Alden DeShetler honored as Kiel’s Man of the Year by the Kiel Kiwanis Club.

Jaycees bowling tourney winners include David Arenz, Roger Dedering, Randy Freis, Ted Freis and Dan Ortlieb.

Platteville basketball coach John Barth is the featured speaker at the annual athletic appreciation night.

State forensics qualifiers are Paulette Beumler, Kay Keppler, Lois Schneider, Peggy Klemme and Mike Mathes.

Cheerleaders selected for next year at KHS include Sue Gast, Mary Ruh, Ruth Stoelting, Jean Moritz and Sharon

Continued on next page