30 years ago

Pros and cons of merging sheriff and traffic departments in Calumet County discussed.

Steve Austin and Jeff Kolbe can 12 points apiece to lead Loose Bar to a Monday Night Basketball League clinching victory over Bosma’s. Joe Landry had 20 points for Bosma’s while Jim Eisner added six. Other championship team members were Dennis Kolbe, Randy Blake, Joe Kolbe, Jerry Kolbe, Jim Kolbe and Ken Kolbe.

Lyle Kurtz elected Chilton City Council president.

Calumet County Courthouse named to National Register of Historic Places.

Helen Schmidlkofer named Outstanding Chilton Jaycette.

David Wettstein is Chilton Jaycees president. Debbie Geiser is named Jaycettes president.

Dick Propson strikes out 19 batters in a 2-0 victory for Chilton over St. Cloud in East Shore League play.

Former CHS player Marty Geiser earns a varsity letter on the UW-Stout baseball team. A knee injury forced him to play on the undefeated JV team for a portion of the season, where he hit for a .750 average.

Calumet County’s unemployment rate is 10.6 percent.

Meredith Fitzpatrick and Sherri Gates are top students at CHS.

Mike Weller named MVP in Chilton Jaycees Softball Tourney, leading Brant Inn to second straight title. Other team members included Ken Mueller, Rick Baltz, Paul Sket, Mike Hauser, Roger Kolbe, Kerry Klotz, Dan Hemauer, Mike Schmidlkofer, Art Weller, Steve Mueller, Mark Schaefer, Steve Bruckner, Bob Edens and Mike Gudex.

35 years ago

Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Ott receive the Community Service Award at Calumet County Farmers Club banquet.

Fire of an undetermined origin destroys a barn and 40 head of cattle on the Ben Daun farm, Route 2, Chilton.

Heidi Moeschberger, a social worker for Calumet County, has been selected as the Calumet Area Business and Professional Women Club’s Young Career Woman.

Judy Sattler installed as president of the Chilton Jaycettes.

Dave Wettstein named president of Chilton Jaycees.

Pat Kopf wins American Legion Essay Contest.

40 years ago

Mark Nikolay and Russ Gilbertson named Badger Boys State reps from Chilton High.

Paul Rusch and Cathy Schaefer are prom king and queen at Chilton High.

George Hostettler named president of the Calumet County Civic Association.

Earl Duchow presented with a gold watch for his 25 years of service to Chilton’s branch plant of Aluminum Specialty Company. He is the manager of the Chilton branch plant.

Debra Steege is the CHS valedictorian for the Class of 1972. Pat Schabach is salutatorian.

50 years ago

Steve Thurwachter named Chilton basketball MVP. James Wagner is most improved player.

Margaret Nelson is the Badger Girls State rep from Chilton high.

History was made when the Chilton Chamber of Commerce raft hit the State Street Bridge on March 31.

A frame shed owned by the City of Chilton at the quarry just south of town, was destroyed by fire.

Margaret Schmahl of Chilton won the annual Easter Egg Coloring contest at Larson Cleaners.

Judy Geiser named Valedictorian for Chilton High School Class of 1962. Harold Geiser and Georgeanne Hume are co-salutatorians.

Gretchen Schmieder and Jerry TeVrucht named royalty for CHS junior prom.

DeWitt Everix named chairman of the Calumet County Young Republicans.

Mrs. Edwin Seipel named “mother of the Year at the Mother’s Day Dance held at the Chilton Eagles Club.

60 years ago

Jerry Criter and Charlotte Pagel rein over CHS junior prom.

Diane Reiser and Gloria Koffarnus will compete in the state forensics contest.

Otto Voigt, a blacksmith in Chilton for the past 47 years, has sold his building and will quit his business. He is the last blacksmith operating in Chilton.

Milan Gasch named Outstanding Young Farmer of the Chilton Area by Chilton Jaycees.

Chilton High FFA judging team including Gervase Hephner, Eldred Totzke and Luke Popp gathers a first place in the state sheep judging competition at Madison.

Helen Brotz of Chilton was the chairperson of the 1952 annual banquet of the Women’s Self-Government Association of Wisconsin State College at LaCrosse.

Eldred Totzke will represent Chilton at Badger Boys State.

Nancy Bergen and Donna Klitzke are named valedictorian and Salutatorian at Chilton High.

Winners in the Chilton Jaycees kite flying contest were Ron Korb, Finn Humleker, Robert Korb, Lonny Nuss, Sandra Nuss, Robert Suttner and Mary Bloomer.

Berdella Hephner was the winner of the women’s feature event at the stock car races in Hales Corners.

15 years ago

Badger State delegates include Jerod Spaeth Rieck Beiersdorf, Ben Binversie and Amanda Geurts.

Header Inn tops pool league behind efforts of Kim Hall, Jim Hall, Rich Lorenz and Joe Kauth. Kauth the top shooter in the league.

Water leaks force renovation of Ss. Peter and Paul church tower.

Kiel Educational Endowment Fund hosts an evening with the Packers featuring Bob Kuberski and Gil Haskell.

Brost Foods wins rights to the Wilbur Beckley Trophy in Kiel bowling. Team members are Dale Horneck, Kevin Bonde, Tom Bechle, Gerry Schnell and Jeff Schweitzer.

Barb Meulemans retires after 33 years of teaching at Kiel High School. Ralph Christianson steps down after 31 years.

Kiel Study Club gathers for its 75th year anniversary. Current officers are Ella Meiselwitz, Marie Lee, Joyce Johnson and Elvera Voigt.

Siemers family prepares to host Farm Progress Days.

Delta Publications classified ads hit the internet.

30 years ago

The Board of Education will lease the softball complex to the city of Kiel for the summer.


Budget cuts may be endangering the Meeme Elementary School.

Sherry Binversie named one of the Alice in Dairyland Finalists.

Laura Jacquart and Connie Daun named Valedictorian and Salutatorian at Kiel High School.

The Chateau Restaurant celebrates its grand opening under the management of Curt and Cindy Kubly.

Richard and Robert Multer are the new proprietors of River View Restaurant.

Randy Meyer was a special guest of local Tripoli Shrine members. He will be playing in the annual high school shrine football game.

My Father’s Place wins the Kiel Rec League basketball title with a 15-1 record. Leading scorers for the team in the championship game were Tom Hau, Pat Hickey, Ken Heberlein and Dave Kanz.

The little theater at Kiel High School has been renamed in honor of the late Joseph Castle.

Jane Winkel and Gary Morgen are Kiel High School prom king and queen.

Badger State Reps are Sue Kuester, Gary Morgen, Scott Mueller and Mark Duerwaechter.

Barry Polster has three first to lead Kiel track boys to successful defense of Klinkner track invitational title.

Milton Kuether named Kiel’s Citizen of the Year.

Kiel Optimist Club is involved in the cleanup and repacking of bricks from the former Kiel Woodenware buildings on Eighth Street.

40 years ago

The Kiel Municipal Band will present a program featuring Merle Evan, bandmaster for Ringling Brothers Circus from 1919 to 1969.

Sue Huberty and Jean Bonde named top students in the KHS Class of 1972.

Jim Scott named the recipient of the W Club award.

The old weather vane from the top of the Kiel water tower has been salvaged and stands atop the roof of John Mein-