Fifty PLUS Remember When
30 years ago

Gervase Hephner will serve as the Master of Ceremonies for the Memorial Day program in Chilton, while Congressman Tom Petri will serve as the main speaker.

Audrey Kopf, director of the Wee Friends Day Care Center, has been charged with embezzling funds from the center.

Chilton’s golfers win the WIAA regional tournament at Quit Qui Oc, shooting a record 325 for 18 holes. Karl Zacharias led the way with a record-breaking 73. He was joined by Bill Suttner, Grant Mortimer, Todd Rieder and Wayne Brandt.

The team record was previously set in 1980 by the team of Greg Nicolai, John Young, Paul Meier, Mike Hertel and Matt Hertel. Zacharias broke the record of Nicolai (75).

Terence Fox will join the law firm of Engler, Onrasek and Twohig.

Rep. Hepher to receive state FFA degree.

After 26 years in the business, Nick Nicolay sells his auto body repair business to Robert Argall, Valders.

Dan Werbeckes finishes sixth in state discuss toss.

Gravesville annexation to Chilton being discussed.

A small tornado strikes the Don Bonlander farm in Hayton.

Mark Borns and Flash Band are set to release first album, “No Turnin’ Back.”

Linda Parsons, Chilton, won the second annual Fisherman’s Road Fisheree with the biggest walleye at 23 inches. Parsons is the wife of Dr. Gary Parsons.

Chilton AC’s win first half East Shore League title with 7-0 record. Dick Propson got the mound win over St. Cloud.

Father Paulinus Kraemer marks 25 years in the priesthood.

Kevin Scherer earns Eagle Scout rank.

35 years ago

Matthew Hertel and Peter Keuler earn Eagle Scout rank.

Pat Hertel is the most valuable track performer of the year.

Winners of the Chilton Chamber’s Summerfest poster contest are Mike Thielman, Scott Kessler, Carla Biese, Pam Woelfel and Todd Eisner.

The Chilton Jaycees travelling baseball team consists of Gary Brantmeier, Dave Schmitz, Tom Schneider, Mark Brandt, Jeff Meyer, Dan Schwarz, Dan Meyer, Pete Freidl, John Nadler, Dave Nennig, Kevin Zacharias, Kelly Thiel, Bob Rider, Pete Keuler, Dan Redig, Myron Geiser, Andy Thone and John Rollmann. The team is coached by Roger Kolbe.

Ron Sturtz and Phillip Salm win the Jaycees fishing contest.

Phillip Anhalt, with the help of Bob Schmidlkofer and Bill Bergholtz, is painting house numbers on all the curbs in Chilton.

40 years ago

Sue Seckel is president of the Chilton VFW Auxiliary.

Loretta Schomisch, business education teacher at Chilton High, is named the first recipient of the Outstanding Teacher Award.

Marvin Hoffmann, Chilton Band teacher for 35 years, announces retirement.

Patt Wettstein is the newly elected president of the Chilton Jaycettes. Tom Meyer is the president of the Chilton Jaycees.

50 years ago

Beulah Griem, cashier at the State Bank of Chilton, named president of the Fox Valley Safe Deposit Association.

Top students at CHS are Betty Uhlenbrauck and Sandra Lunde, the Class of 1964 valedictorian and salutatorian.

Linda Friedrichs and Richard Depies are crowned prom royalty. Other members of the court include Lynn Hertel, Eugene Hanson, Kathy Gebhart and Vernon Gasch, Nora Sebora and Jerry Lodes, Kathy Geiser and Richard Koehler, Shirley Miller and Al Whitby.

A Calumet County landmark, believed to be more than a century old is burned to the ground. Fire claims a building that was once a general store in Jericho.

The Times-Journal bowling team won the Calumet League championship for the third straight year behind the efforts of Ed Liska, LaVerle Henschel, Leo Laughrin, Cliff Bell, Don Zastrow and L. Brandt.

Oscar Schaubs of Chilton reappointed to seven year term on the Calumet County Park Commission.

60 years ago

A spectacular blaze, seen for miles around, levels the Potter Grain Elevator Company, at estimated loss of $40,000.

Richard Behnke is the new

remember when

president of the Calumet Dairy Herd Improvement Association.

The Chilton Tigers baseball team repeated as champions of the Eastern Wisconsin League, tying with Valders. Members of the team include Wayne Pagel, Leland Winkler, Gervase Meyers, Jim Bloomer, Jim Ketter, Ken Leitner, Marv Leitner, Norb Keuler, Gerry Wettstein, Dan Kuhn, Gerry Korb, John Landgraf, Don Nickel and Roland Doern. Earl Miller served as coach.

Ray Manderscheid is the president of the Chilton FFA.

Clifford McHugh was elected Grand Knight of the Claumet Council of Knights of Columbus at its annual election.

J. Ed Sohrweide named outside guard of the state Eagles aerie.

20 years ago

Jamie Arenz and Scott Adleman spark the Raider trackmen to a third place finish at Mishicot Invite.

Paula Smasal captures second straight Eastern Wisconsin Conference shotput title.

Kiel’s tax rate is third lowest in WI.

Mayor Frank Larizza reflects on his first year in office.

Rich Gries won the Seventh

Annual Lakeshore Open Bench Press competition at the Manitowoc Health and Fitness Center, with a personal best of 435 pounds.

Barb Eichelkraut named Teacher of the Year for Kiel Schools. Lou Ann Buhl earns a Kohl Fellowship.

Dredging operations are in full swing on the mill pond on Kiel’s east side.

Top KHS students are Mariah Baus and Deidre Meyer.

Dee Dee Meyer and Jerry Faust named top senior athletes at KHS.

Kiel’s Karla Niemuth is the Player of the Year in EWC softball. She is a two-time first team all-conference pitcher.

Diane Gebhart, a teacher at LaCrosse Logan and Kiel High Alumnus, is named as the recipient of a Kohl Foundation teaching fellowship.

Don Mattox, Kiel district administrator, retires after 12 years at the helm of Kiel Schools.

City of Kiel acknowledges a sizeable grant from the estate of Helga Dawurske to assist the Kiel Historical Home, Kiel Community Center, Kiel Municipal Band, Kiel Ambulance Service and Kiel Public Library.

Rick Mitchell earns Eagle Scout honor.

35 years ago

Judy Vogel and Randy Johnson are KHS prom queen and king.

Top students at Kiel High School are co-valedictorians Klaudia Schubert and Stee Deibele, along with salutatorian Lori Lechler.

100 runners have entered to run in the 10,000 meter Kielathon.

Kiel’s golf team won the C. J. Wiese Invitational behind the efforts of Tony Theiler, Jim Dhein, Dale Heimann, Mike Bunge and Shawn Umland.

Ted Roelofs receives a first place award in state weekly newspaper competition for his investigative

Turn to YEARS/page 10